Print this Page

Recent Reviews

Cecilia McDowall: A Fancy of Folksongs, 2nd July 2016

A Fancy of Folksongs was wonderfully sung, full of animation, a lovely rounded sound and presented with great style.

Cecilia McDowall, Composer


Paul Carr: Requiem for an Angel, 20th March 2016

Thank you for yesterday’s glorious performance of my Requiem in Burford. It was the most memorable occasion and one of the most rewarding performances this work has yet had … As a member of the audience, I found myself transported, forgetting that I am responsible for having composed it, and for me that is the most rewarding experience.

Paul Carr, Composer, in a letter to the Choir

 

The highlight of the concert was the Requiem for an Angel… The Burford Singers really enjoyed tackling a new and unfamiliar work to give a triumphant and uplifting experience.

David Day, The Burford Bridge, April 2016


Handel: Israel in Egypt, 22nd November 2015

In November the Burford Singers gave a fine performance of Handel’s “Israel in Egypt” …  This is a demanding work with many of the choruses written for double choir … For me, two of the highlights were the clarity of the words from the choir and the soloists, particularly the countertenor [James Neville], and Handel’s orchestration of the plagues – you really experienced the flies and the hailstones.

David Day, The Burford Bridge, February 2016


 

Spring Concert, conducted by Bob Chilcott, 28th March 2015

The opportunity to hear some of Bob Chilcott’s music performed live is always one to be relished, but never more so than when the work is conducted by the composer himself. …

I fell in love with Chilcott’s Requiem when I heard it premiered by the Oxford Bach Choir in March 2010, and the intervening five years have done nothing to diminish the appeal of its gentle splendour, its meditative qualities and the glorious richness of its melodies and texturing.

The Burford Singers, as always, responded with a warm, eloquent and committed performance, while soprano Laurie Ashworth and tenor Thomas Elwin contributed some thoughtful and expressive solo work that was beautifully articulated throughout.

… The performance of ‘Spring’ from Haydn’s Seasons positively overflowed with joie de vivre from both choir and soloists, who clearly relished the sheer exuberance of this bubbling score. Once again Laurie Ashworth and Thomas Elwin impressed with some wonderful solo passages; they were joined this time by Jon Stainsby, whose gloriously rich bass was a joy.

Nicola Lisle, The Oxford Times, 16th April 2015

 

 

 

For reviews of previous performance, click here.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.burfordsingers.org.uk/about-us/reviews/